Online Continuing Education Courses

Continuing Education Requirements for Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistants

Continuing Education Requirements by NBCOT

The National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) is the national governing body responsible for credentialing Occupational Therapists (OTR) and Occupational Therapy Assistants (OTA). In order to maintain current certification as an OTR or OTA, therapists must meet all NBCOT continuing education (CE) requirements. A total of thirty-six (36) professional development units beginning and throughout a three year cycle are required. These units can be earned through a variety of professional development activities including internet coursework. A maximum of 36 hours can be obtained through independent learning through OnlineCE.com courses.

Continuing Education Requirements by State

Continuing Education requirements for license renewal vary among States and are subject to change without notice. Please keep in mind that you should always check with your local Board for confirmation or prior approval for authorization for course credit. If your individual state Board does not require CEU, you will still need to satisfy NBCOT CE requirements in order to use the credential OTR or OTA as an Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant.

There are currently 23 state Occupational Therapy regulatory boards that automatically accept courses offered by AOTA Approved Providers: Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia.



HandCredits at OnlineCE.com is an AOTA Approved Provider
UNITED STATES REQUIREMENTS
STATE CONTACT HOURS REQUIRED ONLINE CREDIT
ALABAMA OT: 30 hrs biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
ALASKA OT: 24 hrs biennially
OTA:12 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
ARIZONA OT: 20 hrs biennially
OTA:12 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
ARKANSAS OT: 10 hrs annually
OTA:10 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
CALIFORNIA OT: 12 hrs annually
OTA:12 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
Post professional CE required for Advanced Practice:
Hand Therapy - 45 hours
Physical Agent Modalities - 30 hours
Swallowing Assessment, treatment/intervention - 45 hours
Click Here for Courses Approved for CA Advanced Practice
COLORADO No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
CONNECTICUT OT:12 hr biennially
OTA:9 hr biennally
Home Study Not Accepted
DELAWARE OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts 10 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:12 hr biennally
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
FLORIDA OT: 26 hrs biennially
OTA: 26 hrs biennially
Acepts 12 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
Requires 1 hr AIDS/HIV for first year licensees ONLY
Requires 2 hrs Prevention of Medical Errors
Requires 2 hrs Florida OT Laws and Rules
Click Here for Courses Approved in Florida
GEORGIA OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:24 hr biennially
Accepts 8 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
Requires 2 hours of Ethics
HAWAII No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
IDAHO No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
ILLINIOS OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:24 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
INDIANA No State CE Requirements OnlineCE.com Courses Accepted
Accepts 36 hrs for NBCOT recertification
IOWA OT:30 hr biennially
OTA:15 hr biennally
Accepts 15 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses-for OT
Accepts 8 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses- for OTA
KANSAS OT:40 hr biennially
OTA:40 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
KENTUCKY OT: 12 hrs annually
OTA:12 hr annually
Accepts 6 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
LOUISIANA OT: 15 hrs annually
OTA:15 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
MAINE OT:36 hrs biennially
OTA:36 hr biennially
Accepts 24 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
Courses must be a minimum of 3 hours in length.
MARYLAND OT: 24 hrs biennially
OTA: 24 hrs biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
Click Here for Courses Approved in Maryland
MASSACHUSETTS No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
MICHIGAN No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
MINNESOTA OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:18 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
MISSISSIPPI OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
MISSOURI OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:24 hr biennially
Accepts 12 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
MONTANA OT: 10 hrs annually
OTA:10 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
NEBRASKA OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:15 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
NEVADA OT: 10 hrs annually
OTA:10 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
NEW HAMPSHIRE OT: 24 hrs annually
OTA:24 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
12 hours need to be clinical application
NEW JERSEY No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
NEW MEXICO OT: 20 hrs annually
OTA:20 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
NEW YORK No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
NORTH CAROLINA OT: 15 hrs annually
OTA:10 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
Requires 1 hour of Ethics every 2 years
NORTH DAKOTA OT: 10 hrs annually
OTA:10 hr annually
OnlineCE.com Courses Accepted
OHIO OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts 12 hours of OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
Requires 1 hour of Ethics
OKLAHOMA OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
OREGON OT:30 hr biennially
OTA:30 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
PENNSYLVANIA No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
RHODE ISLAND OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
SOUTH CAROLINA OT: 16 hrs biennially
OTA: 16 hrs biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
8 hours must be related to direct patient care.
SOUTH DAKOTA OT: 12 hrs annually
OTA:12 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
TENNESSEE OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:24 hr biennially
Accepts 12 hours (12 credits) of OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
Requires 1 hr of Ethics
Requires 1 hr of TN Rules and Laws
Note: 2 hrs of online CE = 1 credit.
12 hours must be directly related to delivery of OT services.
Click Here for Recommended Ethics course in Tennessee
TEXAS OT:30 hr biennially
OTA:30 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
UTAH No State CE Requirements NBCOT Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
36 hours of CE every 3 years for NBCOT recertification
VERMONT OT:20 hr biennially
OTA:20 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
VIRGINIA OT: 20 hrs biennially
OTA: No Requirements
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
HandCredits-AOTA Approved Provider #4023
WASHINGTON OT:30 hr biennially
OTA:30 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
WEST VIRGINIA OT: 12 hrs annually
OTA:12 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
WISCONSIN OT:24 hr biennially
OTA:24 hr biennially
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses
WYOMING OT: 16 hrs annually
OTA:16 hr annually
Accepts OnlineCE.com Courses